EdTech 513: Project #6 Digital Story

For this assignment, I decided to teach about an advertising concept through a digital story. The story explains the 4 parts of an ad: headline, copy, illustration, and signature. It defines and explains each part, while providing an example for students to better understand. It includes the Personalization Principle because it is presented in a friendly tone with a fun cartoon character that is explaining the concepts and examples. It also explains the material visually.

I used PowToon to create my story. I have seen some really cool videos with this digital storytelling tool so I thought I would give it a try! It was very frustrating in the beginning. I spent a lot of time playing around with all the features before I got the hang of it. The website was running very slow as well so this was another frustration. Eventually I decided to try it in a different browser (Explorer) and it ended up working a lot better.

An obstacle while creating this project was making sure that my voice narration lined up with the text and graphics that I had entering the screen. It is crazy to me that a 2 minute video took me several hours to create. Overall, I liked PowToon, but think they could update a few things such as being able to group text and graphics. It is also kind of overwhelming the amount of feature that the site offers.

The video that I created isn’t perfect, but it was definitely a learning experience. Now that I have the hang of it, I would probably use PowToon in the future, but I think it would be difficult to teach students how to use. The best thing to do is learn by trial and error, even if it took me way longer than it should have! I ended up adding closed captioning to my video which is something that I have never done in YouTube before. It was very easy to do and I am glad that I will be able to CC videos easily in the future.

Leave a Reply

