EdTech 513: Project #3: Haiku Deck

I really enjoyed the simplicity and ease of use of Haiku Deck. This site allows you to create PowerPoint-like presentations, but limits your text. My goal was to have as little of text possible on each slide and have the main parts of the presentation be the visuals. Haiku Deck is awesome in that it allows you to search over 40 million images that fit your presentation needs. In addition, if you use the images provided by the site, it cites the photos used for you! How awesome!

For my presentation, I decided to do the basics of the marketing mix, also known as the 4 P’s (product, price, place, and promotion). This concept is the foundation of marketing. When using Haiku Deck, I learned that what I am teaching can easily be expressed in less text and awesome visuals. I love how I was able to keep each slide simple with just a picture and the topic that I was discussing as the title text. The slide notes allow for me to expand on what I would like to teach. This allows for a clean look and delivery of information, without the chaos of an overwhelming slide of text. I think this site would be great for not only teacher presentations, but student presentations as well. Not allowing a lot of text forces users to keep it to only what is absolutely necessary and then expand on each topic as they present. I believe this type of presentation would benefit audience engagement.

I will definitely be looking into using this site again. One disappointment was that you only get a 7 day free trial and then after there is a fee. However, I loved how easy it was to use and how it forced me to simplify my presentation! Click the link below to see my Haiku Deck:

Marketing Mix Haiku Deck

Leave a Reply

