EdTech 513: Project #1: Sketchnote

For this week’s assignment, we were to read Ch. 4 and 5 in e-Learning and the Science of Instruction and create a Sketchnote on one of the given topics. I chose to create my Sketchnote on Contiguity Principle #1 which “involves the need to coordinate printed words and graphics” (Clark & Mayer, 2008, pg. 93). I downloaded the app SketchBook, and began by playing around with it and exploring all of its features. After I felt more comfortable with the tools and features, I brainstormed how I would explain the principle through a Sketchnote.

First, I wrote the name of the principle. Then I added in a description of what it entails by writing words + graphics = and then I drew a picture of a light bulb to symbolize learning. For my example of the principle, I drew a simple picture of a flower. I used different colors for each part of the flower and then labeled each part by writing the name of the part and drawing arrows with corresponding colors. The Sketchnote is displayed below.

image1

I really enjoyed working with SketchBook and exploring all of its features. It was a little difficult to get used to and I went back and forth from using a stylus and my finger. Tools that I used included pencil, pen, marker, spray painter, shape/line, text,  and the eraser. I was easily able to change the thickness and color of the tools that I was using. Challenges that I faced were getting it to look EXACTLY how I wanted it to. Although this was not necessary, having the option to quickly undo what I had drawn became a bad habit. It took me MUCH longer than it should have because I overused this button. If I were just drawing this Sketchnote out, I think it would have been interesting because there would have been little room for error and I wouldn’t have had the undo option. Another challenge that I faced was that I originally used the text tool to write the words. This created new layers in the project. I soon realized that with the free version, you are only allowed three layers. I had more words than I had layers so I had to go back and write them myself.

I learned that using Sketchnote apps such as SketchBook to promote visual learning would be great in the classroom. Currently, I try to have students create pictures that help them understand words and definitions as much as I can. I am a strong believer that this process helps them better understand marketing concepts. I think that even if you cannot create the “best” images, whatever you create will still help you learn the material better. The extra time spent adding graphics to represent words will deepen the knowledge learned and will benefit students long-term. I am looking forward to using the Sketchnote technique in my classroom!

References:

Clark, R. C. & Mayer, R. E. (2008). E-learning and the science of instruction. San Francisco, CA: Pfeiffer.

Leave a Reply

