EdTech 543: Online Communities

For this week’s module, we were to find 4 new, online, educational communities to join. It was difficult at first to find communities that were current and active. Another struggle that I faced was that for the LinkedIn groups, your membership must be approved. This meant a delay in being able to view the content in each community. I found 4 online communities, two linked in groups and two Google+ groups that will benefit me! They are described below.

Social Media Marketing LinkedIn Group: This group was of interest to me because I teach marketing and I wanted to see the world of social media through a marketing perspective. In my advanced marketing course that I teach, I teach a unit on social media marketing. I thought this would be a great group to join to stay up to date on current social media marketing trends and also find information that could assist in the teaching of this unit in my class.

1

Mobile Marketing & Advertising LinkedIn Group: This group was of interest to me because it again relates to what I teach. I wanted to join this group because of the mobile aspect of marketing that was included and advertising is one of my favorite units to teach. Currently, some of my advanced marketing students are completing marketing research projects and I found some beneficial articles that I will share with them.

2

Google Apps in Education Google+ Community: This group will be very useful to me. Although we are not a “Google school,” I still use Google Docs quite frequently. Being a member of this page will allow me to stay up to date with the most current Google Apps and trends and will also be a good place to go when I am struggling with a feature of how to do something in Google Docs.

3

Educational Technology Google+ Community: This is an awesome group for any EdTech needs. There are numerous articles that include current trends in EdTech, suggestions for apps, technology in the classroom, blog posting, etc. I am excited to utilize this community in the future as there were many interesting and useful resources available!

4

Leave a Reply

