Code of Professional Ethics in Educational Technology

As a former computer technology teacher, I chose to use an experience that involved students using other students’ files as their own. Cheating and plagiarizing  has been a common trend throughout the years in education and even though technology has evolved, issues still occur. By examining the AECT Code of Professional Ethics, I was able to realize that there are several underlying issues that occur in such a situation. In addition, this paper made me ask the question: how do we expect teachers to do what is ethical, if they may not have been given the proper guidelines to know what is expected? We can only achieve this by educating staff and giving them the necessary resources (AECT Code) in order for them to follow through as ethical professionals.

To read my analysis on the situation I have experienced, please read my paper Promoting Professional Ethics in Educational Technology.

2 thoughts on “Code of Professional Ethics in Educational Technology

  1. thenumb3rsguy says:

    It’s wild how I was transported to my classroom a year ago while I was reading your scenario! Furthermore, I felt the same way you felt: anger, frustration, fear, and guilt. I had to be a failure if my students were plagiarizing so blatantly.

    However, I discovered that my failure was in the myth that my kids knew how to use technology properly because they had smartphones and tablets. They knew they could not simply copy and paste in ENGLISH class, but I had never said anything about it in MATH. In the same way that you turned it into a teachable moment to your classes, I did the same thing. I hope our students learned from the short-term punishment of receiving a zero so that they do not have to learn from a more serious and lasting punishment after high school.

    While reading the scenario, I wondered what AECT standards would you cite. I had thought about individuals and integrity; however, I like how you also pointed out the principles from section 2. The problems of cheating does not stop with the individual who misses out on learning. The learning of everyone in the class, school, and state is inaccurate when cheating occurs. Accurate measurements lead to decisions that support and benefit everyone in the classroom, while inaccurate measurements hinder everyone.

    Like

  2. agilin says:

    Glad to hear that I am not the only one that has experience something like this! It does really make you question your teaching and is frustrating as well. It was nice to see that you made it a teachable moment as well, I can only hope that other teachers would do the same as us and not just look the other way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

